Cashew Chèvre with Herbs de Provence

Makes one 7″ roll

Big news! I made my first ever vegan cheese – and I am impressed. What took me so long? I always enjoyed dairy cheese within dishes, esp. sharp pepper jack,  but it was never a favorite food. When I stopped eating it, I didn’t miss it in sandwiches or burritos so I didn’t really think twice. This cheese is the consistency of cream cheese, with a pretty sharp tang. It reminds me of those little Laughing Cow brand soft spreadable wedges. I eat it on apples, cucumbers, crackers, and rice cakes, but I don’t doubt many uses could be found. I’m so cheese-inspired…what’s next?

Note: First you must make rejuvelac – an indispensable ingredient! These recipes are a process that when combined take practically forever (7-10 days) because fermenting is involved. The active time, however, is close to zero. So do it!

2 C cashews, soaked at least 3 hours and drained
1/4 rejuvelac
1 tsp salt, divided
1 tbsp nutritional yeast
1 tsp fresh lemon juice
1 tsp lemon zest
2 tbsp Herbs de Provence

In a mighty blender or food processor, combine the cashews, rejuvelac, 1/2 tsp of the salt, and process until smooth. Transfer mixture into a medium bowl, cover with plastic wrap, and let sit for 40-48 hours. Stir in the nutritional yeast, lemon juice and zest. scatter herbs on a piece of parchment paper in a ~5×7″ patch in the center. Spoon the cheese glop on in a log-like shape, and pick up one end of the paper then another, rolling the cheese back and forth to make a loggier log. Wrap it in the paper and let it sit for 2-4 days, until firm. Then transfer to fridge, do a little dance, and eat! Store cheese in the paper or a tupperware in the fridge for up to 8 weeks.

 

Credit: VegNews Magazine, October 2012 Issue

One thought on “Cashew Chèvre with Herbs de Provence

Leave a Reply

