Sweet Potato Smoothie

Holy moly I love this. This is one of those recipes I thought about making far too long before I actually did. Believe it or not, there are certain things I am reluctant to drink blended. Potatoes used to be on that list. Lesson learned? Blend everything.

1 sweet potato
1 frozen banana
~1 C almond milk
1/4 C oats [edit: totally optional. I was under the impression oat were responsible for the wonderful, almost gel-like thickness and they aren’t; the potato is. However, they do up the satiety factor.]
1 tsp cinnamon
large pinch of ginger, cloves, and nutmeg (or replace all spices with pumpkin pie spice mix)
tiny pinch salt
1 tsp vanilla
1 packet of stevia or 1 tsp maple syrup – optional

Peel the sweet potato and chop in into medium-sized chunks. Microwave it for 2 minute intervals until tender (2 or 3 cycles, depending on size and microwave strength). [edit: I looked into potato cooking methods and for nutrition’s sake I now bake instead. Unpeeled at 400* until pokeable, then peel.] Let cool, then freeze completely overnight. Also overnight, soak the oat in the almond milk – I do this in the blender’s container. When it’s smoothie time, combine all listed ingredients and blend, blend, blend. Garnish with more cinnamon. If I want to go all out I sprinkle some granola on top. 

3 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Smoothie

  1. Sounds great, and I’ve just grown to love almond milk. But I really want your cinnamon roll?
    Can I make this without a Vitamix?

    1. If your non-Vitamix can handle completely frozen bananas, then I bet a sweet potato will process as well. Maybe over-cook the potato a bit before freezing to help the blender out. Cinnamon roll recipe is on here! In my top 5 favorite foods without a doubt.

      Also…
      I miss you! Is it Thanksgiving yet????

Leave a Reply

